New York State DMV Point System
The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles assesses points for moving violations. Should a licensee accumulate more than 11 points on his/her driving record in an 18-month period, the individual's license or driving privilege will be subject to a discretionary suspension. The suspense is not mandatory. However, even if the Judge elects not to suspend, DMV still may suspend on its own.
In addition to the possibility of a suspension, points may also result in an assessment. When a motorist accumulates 6 or more points in an 18-month period, DMV will charge an additional financial penalty on top of the fines and surcharges already incurred for the specific traffic violations. The assessment is $100 per year for 3 years if you accumulate 6 points within an 18-month period. An additional $25 per year is assessed for each point more than 6. So, for example, a motorist who accumulates 10 points in 18 months would be assessed $200 per year for 3 years. DMV does allow motorists to pay off the entire assessment in one lump sum payment if they so choose. Finally, points also often result in increased car insurance premiums. For all these reasons, it is critical that drivers do not simply mail in guilty pleas when they receive a traffic summons. Whether you retain counsel or not, you are always better off pleading not guilty when you receive a traffic summons. If you do choose to retain a lawyer, I have successfully helped thousands of motorists with their traffic tickets.
Different summonses carry different points. For instance, a red-light violation is worth 3 points and speeding summonses are worth anywhere from 3 to 11 points, depending upon the speed charged. Out of state summonses, other than those received in Quebec or Ontario, do not transfer to New York. Violations received in Quebec or Ontario do transfer point for point due to agreements between New York and those two provinces. A complete listing of point values of various New York State summonses can be found here.
New Jersey DMV Point System
Like New York, New Jersey also assesses points for moving violations. In New Jersey, 6 or more points within 3 years results in an assessment and 12 or more points within 3 years results in a mandatory suspension. The surcharge is $150 per year plus $25 per year for each point over 6. Once a summons is more than three years old (based on the posting date) it drops off for the purpose of determining whether an assessment is owed. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission website provides a detailed explanation of the New Jersey point system.
For New Jersey licensees, New Jersey does count points for out of state violations. A moving violation received in most U.S. states, including New York and Pennsylvania, will result in 2 points being added to your New Jersey license.